AFDICA at Work

AFDICA is proud to have sponsored 8 teachers at the recent Jump$tart National Educator Conference 
November 4th  thru 6th in Chandler, Arizona.

The Jump$tart Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization based in Washington, DC. The coalition consists of more than 100 national organizations and a network of 51 independent, affiliated state coalitions that share a commitment to advancing youth financial literacy.

AFDICA member Joyce Raidle represented AFDICA at the recent Jump$tart National Educator Conference. 

Joyce reported:  "Recently, I had the honor and pleasure of representing the AFDICA at the 2023 Jump$tart National Educators Conference (NEC) Opening Reception and Dinner held in Chandler, Arizona.

Launched in 2009, the NEC is the nation’s premier professional development event for PreK through 12th grade teachers, dedicated to financial education in the classroom.  Through the generosity of its supporters, including the AFDICA, a teacher’s cost to attend the NEC is fully subsidized.  Thanks to AFDICA member contributions, the AFDICA was able to sponsor eight (8) teachers for this year’s conference.  The conference offers tools and information teachers can use in their classrooms as soon as they return to school.  For Jump$tart partners and other financial literacy stakeholders, the Jump$tart NEC provides a platform to share their resources and expertise with the educators who need and want it most.  And for all participants, it’s a warm and invigorating opportunity to network, collaborate, re-charge, and celebrate each other’s unique contribution to “financial smarts for students.”  Support of the conference is aligned with the AFDICA’s mission that includes advancing financial literacy to the public."

Teachers sponsored by AFDICA in 2023:

 Angela Bair --South Tama High School Tama. IowaGlen Gamble - Old Bridge High School Perth Amboy. New Jersey
Andrea Pena - Round Valley High School Springerville. Arizona
Amanda Russo - O.H. Platt High School Middletown. Connecticut
Angel Sliger - Central High School of McMinn County Englewood. Tennessee
Amanda Styles - Piedmont Open IB Middle School Charlotte. North Carolina\
Angie Trerotola - Osbourn Park High School Fairfax. Virginia
Andrea Zehentner - Clear Horizons Early College High School Houston. Texas

2023 teacher scholarship recipients thank you notes: